curiosity09262460926
curiosity09262460926
June 9, 2024.
Not to be missed! We stayed in Orkney for a week and did 3 guided walks with Megan. There is no doubt that the experience enhanced our visit hugely. As we were keen to visit some of the islands Megan booked the ferry and made it all hassle free. The walks were tailored to both the weather and our wishes and we strolled at a relaxed pace with lots of stops to look for wildlife and wild plants. Megan was very knowledgeable and imparted that knowledge in a friendly & engaging manner. We brought packed lunches and our lunch stops were amazing, usually in a sheltered spot on a cliff or a pebbled bay or a valley looking up at hills where eagles can be spotted hunting. We did indeed see a White tailed eagle that day. We had so many fabulous bird sightings, sea birds, waders, song birds, raptors and we were never too far away from that beautiful haunting melody of the curlew. The peace and tranquility was a boost for the mind and soul. At the end of our last day we were presented with a very comprehensive brochure of our walks and findings which is a fabulous keepsake of a very special and memorable trip. If you love nature and a walk then a guided trip with Megan is not to be missed.
S. K
S. K
June 9, 2024.
A memorable week! Spent 3 marvellous days with Megan who highlighted so much on our scenic walks. Birdwatching was spectacular from White Tailed Eagle first day to the most beautiful close up of Short-eared Owl final day. Must have seen over 50 bird species as well as the wonderful plant life. insects and mammals. Megan was super helpful in other ways giving us tips on places to explore and dine. Without doubt she enhanced our Orkney visit. Thank you!
krayfishkim
krayfishkim
May 29, 2024.
Walk around Ring of Brodgar We did an evening wildlife walk around the ring of brodgar with Megan and it was magical. She was really informative about the plants, wildlife, birds and we really enjoyed slowing down and observing what was around us. We saw skylarks, meadow pippets, oyster catchers, curlews, ducks, various types of gull.
BennyTheBall62
BennyTheBall62
May 28, 2024.
Ideal way to discover nature on Orkney We arranged a bespoke walk for 4 with Megan to discover more about Orkney’s wildlife and had an amazing walk around Yesnaby, a 10 minute drive from our hotel in Stromness. Our main interest was in the bird life (and we spotted around 20 species) but along the way we discovered so much more as Megan pointed out some of the plants and insects on our route. Megan was great company and hugely informative on all aspects of the Orcadian wildlife we encountered. Thoroughly recommended, we had a great time.
Brummie16
Brummie16
May 26, 2024.
Lovely end of day Walk We did the evening walk at Marwick Head and it was great Megan engaged the small group well and created a nice vibe. We saw a lot of different birds of which the standouts for me were the Bonxies, Fulmars and Oyster catchers the last of which offered a marvellous aerobatic display when a pair were chasing away a Jackdaw ! Highly recommended
Angela H
Angela H
May 23, 2024.
Great day in Shapinsay. A peaceful and gentle excursion. Relaxed, calm, and easy paced day with Megan. She is very knowledgeable about local bird life, plants, and insects. Her passion for Orkney is infectious. A lovely day out. Recommended.
Companion798134
Companion798134
May 21, 2024.
A beautiful bespoke walk What a great walk we had with Megan at Burwick last week. I was delighted to be given a voucher for a bespoke walk for my birthday and chose this walk from the many options available. Megan is so friendly and relaxed and gave us a real insight into life on Orkney. She pointed out many species of birds and plants with lots of background information and we found we were much more observant for the rest of our stay. We would highly recommend a walk with Megan for anyone interested in wildlife on Orkney!
Road41903235121
Road41903235121
May 20, 2024.
Great day out. So informative Fantastic day out. Megan certainly knows her stuff and the best places to take clients. Being informal and friendly your attention will be gripped all the time. Also, just great to spend a day with someone new and nice to share life's experiences generally. Megan also went out of her way to retrieve my lost water bottle on her next visit to the walk route, and catch up with me in the homeward bound ferry queue to pass it on! How's that for service?
Jacqui W
Jacqui W
May 17, 2024.
Excellent guide, great knowledge. We joined Megan on a 2 hr evening walk around the RSPB reserve at the Ring of Brodgar. Megan is so knowledgeable - she’s a delight to spend time with, we learnt something almost every step of the route.
MargieD
MargieD
May 14, 2024.
Fantastic 2 days of wildlife viewing We spent a wonderful 2 days with Megan exploring mainland Orkney and Hoy. Megan is very knowledgeable about the plants and animals of Orkney. She was very receptive to our interests and always knew where to go and was the first to spot most of the many species of birds we were fortunate enough to see. The folder of our itineraries and list of species is a great addition. We learnt so much about the wildlife of the islands and life there and would have had a much poorer visit to Orkney if we had not had Megan as our guide. We thoroughly recommend Wild Orkney Walks.

Exceptional knowledge and direction

Mull Head Walk

My family and I recently enjoyed a morning walk with Megan through the Mull Head Nature Preserve. The scenary was beautiful and we could not have enjoyed our visit as much withhout Megan’s exceptional knowledge and direction. During our visit we identified 36 species of birds, 16 flower species, 3 insect species and 1 atlantic grey seal. We were fortunate to see lots of puffins and a short-eared owl, highlights of our trip to Scotland. Our only regret was we didn’t stay longer and get to explore more areas with Megan. If you travel to Orkney, taking a wild walk with Megan should be at the top of your list of things to do.

(Review from Facebook)

S McElmurry, 21/05/2024

A wonderful learning experience

Mull Head Walk

My wife and I did a bespoke walk at Mull Head with Megan just before the rush of the beginning of the tourist season. Megan really knows her animals and plants and she introduced us to Orkney’s finest on what turned out to be a beautiful day in early May. It was a wonderful learning experience and a fun walk, both.

(Review from Google)

D Goldberg, 02/05/2024

Really enjoyed learning more from her! 

Megan took us around a wonderful area, and despite the weather we saw lots of birds. Megan has lots of anecdotes to share about Orkney’s flora and fauna, and we really enjoyed learning more from her!

Eva & Orville, 05/01/2024

One of the best things we did on our trip!

We had an amazing walk with Megan, she was so knowledgeable and friendly. She knew every bird and pointed them out as we walked. We walked along the cliffs past lots of bays with seals and seal pups which was such a great experience. At the end of the walk Megan had made a pack with info on the area and all the animals we had seen which was so thoughtful. I would definitely recommend booking a walk for your Orkney trip. It was one of the best things we did on our trip! Thanks Megan! Hopefully we will be back one day.

(Review from Google)

A Gleadall, 27/10/2023

Very Interesting Walks

My wife and I had two very interesting walks with Megan during our short time on Orkney last week. Both were very well organised with plenty of useful information provided about what to wear, what to bring and easy instructions about where to meet beforehand. Although both walks were nearly three hours long, they were very easy going and capable for most abilities. Also, Megan is very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about all the wildlife in Orkney, which added much to the enjoyment of the walks. Therefore, I would have no hesitation in recommending these walks to anyone wanting to learn more about the flora and fauna of these beautiful islands – thank you Megan!

(Review from Google)

N Hoy, 23/06/2023

Yesnaby Walks

It is really a big difference to walk with Megan instead of having a walk alone. She opens your eyes for the beauty of wild life, takes the time to answer all questions and adjusts to your own preferences and walking speed. So also suitable for 60+ … 🙂

(Review from Google)

M Vellar, 09/06/2023